Pinto Bean Soup

Pinto Beans

Pinto beans are commonly used in Mexican favourites like enchiladas and burritos, commonly known as re-fried beans when cooked a certain way.  I however was craving soup,  I felt a cold coming on and I didn’t want to have to choose between Mexican classics and tomato soup so I combined the two.  Luckily Good Housekeeping came to the rescue and I was able to soothe my throat in pinto bean style.

This recipe was adapted by Good Housekeeping Magazine (January, 2013).

IMG_0945 IMG_0947

Ingredients:

1tsp extra virgin olive oil, 1 onion (roughly chopped), 1 tsp chilli powder, 250 tinned pinto beans (drained), 400g chopped tomatoes, 2 pints vegetable stock.

Method:

1. Heat the oil in a large pan.
2. Add the onion and cook for 15 minutes until softened.
3. Stir in the chilli powder and beans and cook for a minute.
4. Add the tomatoes and stock.
5. Bring to the boil.
6. Let the soup simmer gently for 15 minutes.

Saffy’s Serving Tips:

1. Low- Fat Cornbread
2. Tortilla Chips
3. Avocados
4. Herb croutons

Author: Safiya Kamaria

A free spirited creative person sharing my food adventures.

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love