Date, Apple And Celery Starter

“Crunch at Brunch”

Dear Kamaria’s Kitchen,

I am currently recovering from an eating disorder.  I dislike cooking though so my diet is far more basic than the doctor would like.  I dislike the idea of having a savoury and then sweet meal.  I wish I could combine the two meaning that I can eat less but get the same quality from both.  I am at a stage where I can try new things but I tend to stick to liquidising everything.  I usually skip breakfast but I am challenging myself to chew something around lunchtime.  I am not sure what I am looking for but I would like your help. 

Dear Captain,

I am calling you “Captain” because you are taking control of your life which is very noble and I am still hyped from the latest Star Trek film.  I think it is fantastic that you are ready to include more solid foods in your diet, however I do encourage you to try and have something small within an hour after waking up or just after.  Maybe you can try one of my healthy juices for breakfast and try this recipe along with others for the rest of the day.  This “crunch for brunch” recipe took me a while to warm up to because I am not necessarily a fan of some of the ingredients, but when mixed with other ingredients including coconut it became more tolerable.  I have a feeling you will like this one.  It is actually a salad that mixes sweet with savoury flavours.  It requires barely any cooking and definitely includes the crunch that you have been looking for.  Please do try taking my advice in eating something for breakfast.  I think that it is fantastic you are seeking new ways to make you diet healthier and I encourage you to carry on.  Salads usually involve a crunch and allow you to make many variations which can include exciting new foods like pomegranate seeds and chickpeas.  I hope you can also find some salads I have made that you might like to try which includes nourishing foods that will help you on your road to recovery.  I wish you all the best of luck captain, live long and prosper.  Please update me with how you are coping and let me know what you thought of this salad/ starter.

Recipe & Method:

  1. Toast 2 tsps of desiccated coconut in a dry frying pan over a very low heat until the golden brown.  Set aside.
  2. Core and dice 2 crisp apples and chop 3 sticks of celery finely.
  3. Put 75g dates into boiling water, drain then chop finely.
  4. Combine the fruit in a mixing bowl with 2 tbsps of yoghurt and salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Transfer to a serving bowl and garnish with toasted coconut.

All of the ingredients can be found at most supermarkets.  Ready to eat dates are also available so there will be no need to boil them.

Author: Safiya Kamaria

A free spirited creative person sharing my food adventures.

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love