Vegetable Cake/ Pudding Dulux

Possibilities

Cooking is a lot like dancing,  so many steps have already been done but the combination of steps you can do are infinite.  I was going to make a carrot cake but then I saw some courgettes and thought how cool would it be to make a low fat sugar cake mainly using vegetables.  I told a few people of my plans but the only person who approved was mummy.   What can I say… My mummy just has a better imagination than most.  The cake/ pudding ended up tasting wonderful,  I made so many alterations I wasn’t sure how it was going to come out. I don’t think I have ever made a cake with so many vegetables.  If you are going to make a vegetable cake then carrots and courgettes are usually the best way to go because carrots are sweet and courgettes contain a lot of moisture and do not taste of anything.  Therefore it allows you time to think of other ingredients that could be used to flavour the pudding. Take a walk on the wild side and try this exciting new cake.

This recipe was seriously adapted from The Hummingbird Bakery: Cake Days (Harper Collins Publishers, 2011).

vegetable pudding

Ingredients:

250g carrots (peeled and grated), 250g courgettes (grated), 140g sultanas, 2 tbsps mixed spice, 80ml buttermilk, 4 large eggs, 1 tsp vanilla essence, 250g butter (melted), 100g dark brown sugar, 450g plain flour, 2 tsps baking powder, 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda.

Method:

  1. Pre heat the oven to 170 degrees C.
  2. In a large bowl mix the vegetables, sultanas, buttermillk, eggs, vanilla and butter.
  3. In another bowl sift in the plain flour and mix with the sugar, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and combine well.
  5. Divide into 2 x 10 inch cake tins.
  6. Bake for 1 hour until the pudding is firm to the touch.

Saffy’s Serving Tips:

As this is an odd recipe I have providing some serving tips if you are slightly apprehensive eating this delicious dessert/ pudding alone.

  1. Custard! Try my home made vanilla custard!
  2. Ice Cream! Try my home made rum and raisin ice cream it goes perfect with this!
  3. Blitzed bananas and mango slices!  Trust me it’s awesome and complimentary to anyone on a diet.  That’s if your diet is cool and not super strict which doesn’t allow a few cakes every now and again.
  4. A smile! This is necessary!  Fall in love with your food,  nourishment is to be enjoyed!

Author: Safiya Kamaria

A free spirited creative person sharing my food adventures.

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love