Skip to content

Shortcrust Pastry

May 19, 2016

“What the heck is in my food?”

Dear Kamaria’s Kitchen,

I recently found out that there might be wood in my Parmesan cheese.  I am worried about all of the added weird molecules that my food might be based on.  I have a baby and because of this latest food scandal I am really worried about what might be in er food as well.  I am taking extra precautions to read all the labels but I want to make an effort to make my own food.  I like hearty food and I like the idea of making things from scratch.  I can’t make my own cheese but I bought a bread maker so at least one thing that I can use.  Do you have another basic food recipe I can make apart from bread that is really easy and cheap? 

Dear Rightfully Worried,

I most certainly can relate to what you are going through as these strange food scandals are scary and unlawful.  I am very happy to have received this letter because  it is great to know that other people are taking steps to make their food from scratch and therefore gaining more control on what they are putting in their systems.  Living in the west avoiding unprocessed foods is seriously difficult so every little homemade meal etc really makes a difference.  I would encourage you to keep going and learning new recipes and because you have a child it is even more important that you set a good example.  The recipe I have chosen for you is a very easy shortcrust pastry recipe.  I think this would be great for you because you can experiment with different pastry flavours and shortcrust pastry tastes fantastic with parmesan.

IMG_6160

Recipe & Method:

  1. Place 125g plain flour into a bowl.
  2. Add a pinch of salt.
  3. Cube 50g of butter into the flour.
  4. Work the flour into breadcrumbs.
  5. Add a tbsp of cold water and knead into a dough.
  6. When it’s elastic textured wrap in cling film and place in the fridge until ready to knead for recipe.
  7. If the dough becomes too sticky add more flour and if too dry and tiny amounts of water.

I have a wide range of great recipes that use shortcrust pastry.  Please let me know how you get on.  Also for good quality cheeses you can trust,  try farmer’s markets and local produce.  These cheeses may be more expensive but the quality tends to be higher.

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

