Skip to content

Beat The Beetroot

January 23, 2016

“I really hate vegetables!”

Dear Kamaria’s Kitchen,

I have been challenging myself to eat different kinds of food because after watching this show called ‘Freaky Eaters’ and I honestly think I have a problem.  At university my diet was atrocious so now I want to try new things to see if I can give myself a bit of a range.  I don’t think it is fair that I should give up my fast food completely and  I am not a fan of cooking either.  Cooking is meant to be fun but so far I have been trying salads with my usual pizza and chips but I hate vegetables.  I really hate vegetables.  I have been looking at Kamaria’s Kitchen to try and find recipes which use vegetables but the thing is I don’t really want to taste the vegetables.  Veg like beetroot I want to know how to use but what I hate about that the most is when the juices run on the plate and touch the rest of my food.  At least other vegetables stay in one place.  So can you help me with my beetroot problem?

Dear Fast Junk Food Junkie,

I think it is fantastic you are daring to try new foods, especially by varying the types of nutrients you are eating.  Although fats are important for our diet, too much can really clog up your arteries and although you may not necessarily seem overweight the damage done to your inside is far worse as you may not be aware of the effects of a bad diet before it’s too late.  We all have our comfort food and I think you are absolutely right not to give up on what makes you happy.  I encourage you to search through my recipe archives to find some recipes that are agreeable with you, recipes which do not take you too far from your comfort zone to scare you aware but also teach you the basics of cooking.  I recommend my pasty recipes and my omelette recipes.  Both meals are great for packing in great ingredients plus you can add enough extras to enhance the flavours of the new found foods.  Beetroot is a very difficult vegetable but I do thank you for the challenge.  The only thing I like about beetroot is the colour, the taste is just disgusting.  However,  I have conjured up a recipe for you that I will you will enjoy.  You can also share this recipe with friends which will help reduce the fear levels of trying something new.  Cooking should be fun, it may not be your passion but I hope you do get some satisfaction from cooking your own food and knowing exactly what is in it.

The recipe I have made is a beetroot cake.  Cake is always a big hit and if I were you I would bake the cake and then challenge your friends or family to guess the main ingredient.  It will be a nice surprise and a good laugh. It isn’t nice that I am dissing beetroot so much because the health benefits are very good.  Beetroot contains potassium, antioxidants and effectively lowers your blood pressure and helps your blood flow.  Therefore, this vegetable would be very helpful to someone who has been on a high fat diet.  Search beetroot on Kamaria’s Kitchen to find more juices and beetroot recipes to make for yourself.

IMG_3826

It looks like chocolate and tastes just as good as a quick chocolate sponge.

Recipe & Method:

  1. Wash and trim 250g beetroot.
  2. Put the beetroot in a large saucepan and cover with 2cm water.
  3. Bring to the boil then cover and leave to simmer for 30 – 40 minutes until just tender.
  4. Line a deep rectangular cake tin or a 9 inch round tin.
  5. Sieve 50g dark cocoa powder, 175g plain flour and 1 tsp baking powder into a large bowl.
  6. Mix in 200g caster sugar.
  7. Drain the beetroot and blend in a food processor.
  8. Put the beetroot in another medium bowl, break in 3 eggs and pour in 200ml sunflower oil.
  9. Beat the wet mixture well until smooth.
  10. Stir the wet mixture into the dry ingredients.
  11. Pour into the cake tin and bake for 45 minutes at 180 degrees C.
  12. Remove from the oven and set aside from 10 minutes.

Saffy’s Baking Tips:

  • Make sure the temperature is not too low otherwise the cake mixture will be to doughy and/ or collapse.
  • Do not leave the cake in the pan after baking for too long.
Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

