Skip to content

Fried Dumplings

July 1, 2015

Barbados – Part One 

I flew back to Barbados for about a month to work for some artists and build a good reputation for myself and family name on the island.  As I looked out of the plane I saw masses of seaweed (mulched and browned) on the sand across the entire coastline.  When I surveyed the beaches it was worse than I thought.  The seaweed was up to my chest! On the one hand I wouldn’t get to wear a bikini but on the other hand I wouldn’t need to worry about the impact of fatty food on my body!  It had been a while since I had fried dumplings.  When I had no food and was alone I made them for myself and ate them as a snack while watching the tv.  Barbados isn’t an easy place to live even for a little while.  This is one of the simplest staples you can make in the Caribbean and can be eaten at breakfast as well as dinner.

This recipe was taken from Caribbean Cookery Secrets by David and Gwendolyn Daley (Right Way, 2013).

Ingredients:

300g flour, 2 tsps baking powder, 1tbsp vegetable oil, 120 ml cold water

Method:

  1. Sieve flour and baking powder into a large bowl.
  2. Add enough water to the dry ingredients to make a soft dough.
  3. Knead the dough for 10 minutes until it reaches to a tight mass and leave to rest for 30 minutes.
  4. Divide the dough into roughly 12 equal pieces and roll into balls.
  5. Fry the balls in hot oil that is at least half the height of the dough balls and turn until browned all over.
  6. Place onto plates with kitchen paper to drain off the excess oil.

Method:

From → Sides

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

