Skip to content

Ultimate Cereal Bar (Dream 1)

April 9, 2015

Marathon

I had a dream where I was in the middle of no where, it was a dessert.  I could see various trees and cattle in the distance but the scenery switched the distant life stock or monuments depending where I turned and the angle I stared into the distance.  The entire dream consisted of me running, just wondering.  It is like I was a character in a play station game and the player controlling me was totally lost.  I woke up with my mind exhausted and I felt that morning a real need to run.  Cereal bars are quite expensive so I tend to make my own.  These cereal bars only have 4g protein and 2g fibre but they are pretty yummy and get the job done.

This recipe was adapted from Good Housekeeping Magazine (January, 2014).

Ingredients:

225g jumbo rolled oats, 75g sunflower seeds, 100g dried fruit, 50g roughly chopped almonds, 25g sesame seeds, 75ml sunflower oil, 75g runny honey, 50g of light muscavado sugar.

Method:

1. In a large bowl stir in the first 5 ingredients.
2. Heat the rest of the ingredients in a small pan and stir together continuously to the boil.
3. Add the hot liquid to the dry mixture and mix.
4. Mix well and tip into a square tin lined with baking parchment.
5. Press firmly and level the top with the back of a spoon.
6. Bake at 170 degrees C for 30 – 35 minutes.
7. Leave to cool completely in a tin before cutting into rectangles or squares.

From → Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

