Skip to content

Coconut Cake

August 26, 2014

Random Moments 

Sometimes random moments can be the best moments of your life.  One night I was listening to a relaxed show where a Bajan entertaining was playing his steel pans and singing for the tourists.  In one of my spontaneous moments I got up from my seat and asked if I could dance.  He let me, and after a few short moments the crowd applauded and showed momentous appreciation for my creativity.  That day was a horrible day, I had shed many tears and was beginning to feel like I was doomed to forever be unhappy on the island, but just like that my mood changed because I decided to take control of my life, my surroundings and mood.  At home, frustrated and bogged down by work I did the same thing.  I found some desiccated coconut and made a cake.  I mixed a little coconut cream with double cream and nutmeg to make a unique filling.  The decoration is minimal, but the flavour is wonderful.

IMG_0003 IMG_0005

Ingredients:

225g butter, 225g caster sugar, 2 large eggs, 225g flour, 2 tsps bicarbonate of soda, 1 tbsp coconut milk, 50g desiccated coconut, 100ml double cream, 50ml coconut cream, 1 tbsp nutmeg.

Method:

1. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
2. Grease and line two 8 inch baking tins.
3. Beat together the butter and caster sugar until creamy.
4. Beat in the eggs.
5. Sieve in the flour and soda.
6. Add the milk and coconut.
7. When well combined divide the mixture into the two tins.
8. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes.
9. When springy to the touch remove from the trays and leave to rest and cool on wire racks.
10. While the cakes cool whip the rest of the ingredients together.
11. Sandwich the two cakes with the coconut cream filling.

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

