Skip to content

Easter Simnel Cake

April 24, 2014

Happy Birthday Birdspeed

Birdspeed was created at Easter when I was 14 years old.  Another reason why Easter is such an important time for me.  My grandfather loved kites and he used to fly them.  It is tradition in Barbados to fly kites around Easter.  My gran gran made the most glorious food.  Through the years after my grandparents’ passing Easter has been harder to enjoy, but celebrating the moments that made me who I am and doing something really lovely for my mum, like buy her a mother’s day gift and baking some of her favourite ingredients just makes me feel a whole lot better.  This is the best simnel cake I have ever made.  The crisp and earthy marzipan was unusual but heavenly.  Mary Berry slightly bakes her marzipan so it gives a beautiful decoration and brings out the extra spices in the batter.  I didn’t even want to make a simnel cake this year but I am so glad I did.

This recipe was taken from Mary Berry’s Baking Bible (BBC Books, 2009).

IMG_20140420_183457

Ingredients:

100g glace cherries, 225g softened butter, 225g light muscavado sugar, 4 large eggs, 225g self – raising flour, 225g sultanans, 100g currants, 50g candied peel, grated rind 2 lemons, 2 tsps mixed spice, 450g marzipan, 1 beaten egg (to glaze).

IMG_20140420_182541

Method:

1. Beat the butter and sugar together until creamy.
2. Beat in the eggs.
3. Sift in the flour.
4. Fold in the rest of the ingredients except for the marzipan and extra egg.
5. Prepare a cake tin.
6. Bake in a pre heated oven at 150 degrees C.
7. After an hour cover the cake with foil.
8. Bake for another and a half.
9. Roll out the marzipan and 11 small balls.
10. When the cake has cooled more add the marzipan on the top and create a crown like shape before adding the balls on top.
11. Brush the top with egg and grill for 15 minutes.

IMG_20140420_183354

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

