Skip to content

Oat Rounds

March 9, 2014

Racist Bitch!

These biscuits remind me of a cooking disaster I once had in high school because of the shape and the way they flatten and fizzle baking in the oven.  I made biscuits with the wrong consistency then which is why I was so concerned when I saw these biscuits thinking I made the same mistake I did years ago.  Relieved that I was wrong I enjoyed the oaty sweetness which tasted a bit like a digestive but much lighter.  Had these biscuits not tasted good I would have spent a good minute of my time wasting my thoughts on that racist bitch of a teacher!  All is well in Kamaria’s Kitchen.

This recipe was taken from Mary Berry’s Baking Bible (BBC Books, 2009).

Oat Rounds

Ingredients:

50g caster sugar, 100g softened butter, 100g porridge oats, 50g plain flour

Method:

1. Prepare a baking tray with baking paper.
2. Mix the sugar and butter in a bowl and beat until creamy. Pre heat the oven to 160 degrees C.
3. Add the oats and flour then work the mixture using your hands.
4. When needed well and formed into a cookie dough roll the mixture into small balls on a lightly floured surface.
5. Flatten the balls slightly when placing them over an inch apart on the baking tray.
6. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes until beginning to turn golden.
7. Lift on to a wire rack and leave to cool.

From → Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

