Skip to content

Jam – In Custard Tart

November 14, 2013

Bake Off Disaster

One of the biggest disasters in The Great British Bake Off this year for the contestants was surprisingly custard tarts.  I was shocked that such a common pastry dessert could be so complicated.  How could the contestants get the tarts so wrong.  Making custard tarts is really not that difficult.  It is actually easier to make custard tarts from scratch than to use the complete cheat method.  My big custard tart was not the best in the world but I would not have considered it to have been a complete disaster.   To be fair I did not have millions of people watching me.  I did not have the time to make my own custard but I was very pleased with my pastry.  I used ground almonds in my mixture which did not destroy the beautiful soft texture, it only enhanced the flavour to bring more depth to the tart rather than the sweetness from the jam.  I added peaches at the end, but a variety of fruit can be used to decorate and eat with the tart.

This recipe was adapted from Ainsley Harriott’s just five ingredients (BBC Books, 2009).

Custard Tart

Ingredients:

175g plain flour, 75g butter, 20g ground almonds, 2 tbsps apricot jam, 120ml custard, peaches (to decorate the top).

Method:

1. In a bowl rub the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.
2. Mix in the ground almonds.
3. Add a little cold water.
4. Knead the mixture to create a soft dough.
5. Line a small round cake tin with baking parchment.
6. Roll out the dough and create a tart case in the tin.
7. Chill in the fridge for an hour.
8. Pre heat the oven to 200 degrees C.
9. Spread the jam across the bottom of the tart.
10. Pour over the custard.
11. Place the peaches on top.
12. Bake for 25 minutes.
13. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.

From → Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

