Skip to content

Divine Chocolate Birthday Cake

November 2, 2013

Niece

I still find it weird that I am an aunty.  I am determined to be an inspiration to others and to make others happy.  Especially my family.  When my sister told me it my nieces first birthday was approaching and she wanted a cake I jumped on the chance to make a cake for her.  My sister was very specific.  Chocolate, big, Minnie Mouse.  I had ideas of my own, but I am glad my sister wanted something simple.  I have seen many cakes with the same design so I had something very easy to follow.  When making a cake for children it is best to keep things simple.  Birthdays from 0 – 3 years old should not be too chaotic.  Something which captures the child’s attention and gives them an easy reference to a fun theme.  My niece could not keep her eyes off the cake.  It was the centerpiece of the evening, so I am hoping she will look back on the pictures when she is older and be thankful she has an aunty who makes damn good cakes.

This recipe was adapted from Mary Berry’s Baking Bible (BBC Books, 2009).

Ingredients:

6 large eggs (5 of them separated), 215g caster sugar, 265g plain chocolate, 150g chocolate powder, 2 tsps hot water, (for icing) blackberry jam, 225g plain chocolate, 100g unsalted butter.

Method:

1. Grease and prepare a deep round cake tin (max 9 inches).  Other tins can be used depending on the design.
2. Place the egg yolks and the whole egg into a large bowl.
3. Add the sugar and beat until thick and light in colour.
4.  Melt 265g chocolate.  If melting in the microwave heat with 30 second bursts.
5. Mix in the chocolate powder.
6. When the hot water has cooled a bit mix the water and chocolate into the egg mixture.
7. Whisk the egg whites until stiff but not dry.
8. Carefully fold in the egg whites into the chocolate mixture.
9. Turn the mixture into the tin and level.
10. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
11. Bake for about 50 minutes.
12. When the cake is well risen and a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes.
13. Let the cake cool on a wire rack.
14. Melt 5 tbsps of blackberry jam in a small saucepan over a low heat.
15. Melt the remaining chocolate in a bowl and mix with the jam.
16. Add the butter and whisk with the chocolate and jam until the icing is thick like cream.
17. Half the cake and spread the icing in the middle.  When the cake has completely cooled you can decorate with fondant icing.

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

