Skip to content

Cranberry and Feta Puffs

September 13, 2013

Pythag Disaster

I was watching my favourite television show The Great British Bake Off and someone had the idea to make a Pythagoras inspired filo pie.  But rather than a interesting design of shapes the pie turned out to be badly inflated retarded shapes.  I felt so bad for the contestant because he had run out of time and the pastry shapes really were unappealing.  He would have been saved if the filling tasted nice, but this was also a fail.  Luckily if I was to have presented my pie with my filling I might have just got away with it.  My triangle puffs are not perfect but I really couldn’t care less.  One bite and out oozes sweet lovely flavours with a delicate crunch.  Cranberry goes so well with cheese, just try Wensleydale and you will know what I am talking about.

This recipe was adapted from Good Housekeeping Magazine (August 2013).

– Due to technological issues I am unable to post a picture for this post-

Ingredients:

320g ready- rolled puff pastry, 125g feta cheese, 100g cranberry sauce, dried basil and oregano, 1 egg (beaten), poppy seeds.

Method:

1. Roll out the pastry and cut into squares.
2. Divide the feta cheese and sauce in the squares.
3. Sprinkle over the mixed herbs.
4. Fold over the pastry and use fingertips to press down the edges to form triangle shapes.
5. Make a shallow cut at the top.
6. Brush a little of the egg over the pastry.
7. Sprinkle the poppy seeds over the top.
8. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C.
9. Cook in the oven for 25 minutes.
10. When the pastry has puffed up and is golden leave to cool for 10 minutes before serving.

From → Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

