Skip to content

Apricot and Walnut Sandwich Bars

September 8, 2013

Mother Daughter Time

No family is perfect but I would not change my mother for all the mothers in the world.  My mummy understands me and loves me with all of her heart so it is right to make sure that as her daughter I do everything I can to make her happy and proud.  When I cook and my mother is not keen on something it breaks my heart so I make sure this rarely happens.  She says she feels like flapjacks so I give her a lovely fruity version of flapjacks for an afternoon space.  I mashed up some ripe apricots and sandwich this between the oat mixture.  I forgot how beautiful fresh apricots are.  Mary Berry used dried apricots but I much prefer them fresh.

This recipe was adapted from Mary Berry’s Baking Bible (BBC Books, 2009).

20130907_151235

Ingredients:

75g oats, 75g dark muscavado sugar, 60g chopped walnuts, 300g wholemeal flour, 200g butter (melted), 175g fresh apricots, 2 tsps caster sugar.

20130907_14153720130907_151151

Method:

1. Prepare a square cake tin and then line with baking parchment.
2. Mix the oats, dark sugar, walnuts, whole meal flour and butter in a large bowl.
3. Pre heat the oven to 160 degrees C.
4. Spoon and level half of the oat mixture in the tin.
5. Blend the apricots and add the sugar.
6. When the filling has been made spread over the oat mixture.
7. Spread the rest of the oats on top.
8. Bake for 40 minutes or until the firm and golden brown.
9. Cut into squares while still warm and leave to cool for 15 minutes.

From → Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

