Skip to content

Sweet Potato Puffs

May 29, 2013

Crazy in Doubt

I was making a flan and I had a lot of the mixture left over.  I had puff pastry and all of my instincts were telling me to make these amazing puffs but for some strange reason I kept doubting myself.  I should have known better.  When you doubt yourself in the kitchen it really does affect your cooking ability.  I was making a lot of mess, panicking and my hands were shaking.  When I removed the puffs from the oven the nerves still remained and the tension was unbearable.  Finally I encouraged myself to take a bite of the warm buttery flaky pastry with the sweet creamy filling .  I was delighted and annoyed at myself for doubting my abilities.  The puffs were so lovely.  I think that I was having a bad day… to be honest the day did not get any better but just knowing I made something lovely was a joy for that moment.  I cherished it, like my tummy cherished that lovely morsel.

This recipe was transformed from Morrisons Magazine (January/ February 2013).

20130529_095057

Ingredients:

450g sweet potatoes (cooked and mashed), 150g sweetcorn (drained), 100g cream cheese, 1 egg, 50g butter, salt, white pepper, 3 tsps fresh thyme, 3 tsps herbs de provence, 2 tsps basil, ready roll puff pastry, green olives.

Method:

1. Mix the sweet potatoes, sweetcorn, cream cheese and egg in a large bowl.
2. Melt 40g of the butter and mix into the sweetcorn mix.
3. Season with the salt and pepper then add the herbs.
4. Divide the puff pastry into chosen shapes and place a few spoons of the sweet potato mixture inside.  Seal the puffs.
5. Melt the rest of the butter and brush over the tops of the pastry.
6. Cook in the oven at 180 degrees C for 35 minutes.
7. When the pastry has cooked serve with olives.

From → Main Meals, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

