Skip to content

Leek & Cheese Quiche

May 27, 2013

Deja Vu

Deja Vu is a very strange phenomenon which has always scared me, but when I get deja vu I feel like what I am doing at the moment was supposed to happen.  It is a strange thing to feel but even though I am afraid I am calm at the same time.   I had deja vu when I was making this quiche.  I was nervous because I knew how many disasters could occur if I split the pastry of over filled the pie.  However, in my vision the end result satisfied me so in my mind I was just carrying out the unwritten prophecy that I would cook another great meal.  I used Gruyère cheese and wholemeal flour to make the pastry.  I also used tin foil and rice instead of baking beans, this is a good trick to prepare your’re pastry.

This recipe was adapted from Asda Magazine (May, 2013).

20130523_164942 20130523_171926

Ingredients:

200g wholemeal flour, 125g butter, 1 large egg yolk, 3 whole eggs, 2 tsps oil, 125g leeks (chopped), 300ml single cream, a handful of fresh thyme, 125g Gruyère cheese (grated).

20130523_160143

Method:

1. Beat the 3 eggs, single cream and thyme together.
2. Heat the oil in a frying pan and fry the leeks until they are soft. Set aside.
3. Sift the flour and a pinch of salt into a large bowl.
4. Rub in the butter.
5. Add the egg yolk with 3 tbsps of cold water.
6. Form into a dough.
7. Roll the dough out on surface sprinkled roughly with a little flour.
8. Line a 20cm pastry case with the pastry.
9. Cover with foil and add uncooked rice over the top.
10. Bake for 15 minutes on a low heat in the oven.
11. Remove the foil and rice.
12. Mix the leeks and cheese with the eggs, cream and thyme.
13. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
14. Pour the quiche filling into the pastry case.
15. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes until the quiche has set.

20130523_165112

Saffy’s Starter Idea:

1. Make mini quiches to make cute starters for guests.

20130523_164938

From → Main Meals

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

