Skip to content

Egg – Fried Rice

May 19, 2013

Flaws and All

I am a complete novice to Chinese cooking, but I would rather try my own Chinese meals than order a take away.  I am very conscious about what goes into my body and takeaways do not always have good reputations.  I made the most of my leftovers and made this wicked egg fried rice.  My favourite thing about cooking this dish was using the wok.  It had been a while since I made a good stir – fry, not to mention my rice was perfectly cooked.

This recipe was adapted from Silvana Franco’s  The Really Useful Ultimate Student Cookbook (Murdoch Books, 2007).

20130518_122448[1]

Ingredients:

Roughly 180g (cooked basmati rice), 2 tbsps vegetable oil, 2 eggs (beaten), a few strips of cooked chicken breast, 1 cm fresh ginger (diced), a handful of beansprouts, a handful of mushrooms (sliced), a handful of carrots (chopped), 1 tbsp soy sauce.

Method:

1.Heat 1/2 tbsp of oil over a medium heat.
2. Fry the egg and make a scrambled egg.
3. Put the scrambled egg aside.
4. Heat the rest of the oil and fry the chicken breast and vegetables.
5. When the food is heated through add the rice and the egg.
6. Mix everything together well and season to taste after 8 minutes.
7. Serve when everything has been cooked through.

From → Main Meals

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

