Skip to content

Refried Beans

May 13, 2013

Party Girl

Whenever I think of refried beans I think of a house party.  Before I made my beans I listened to party music so I was all ready to go.  So with a swing in my hips I vamped up my kidney beans ready for burritos, nachos and anything else that screams party.

This recipe was adapted from Silvana Franco’s The Really Useful Ultimate Student Cookbook (Murdoch Books, 2007).

Refried Beans

Ingredients:

1 tbsp sunflower oil, 1 onion (chopped), 2 garlic cloves (chopped), 1 can plum tomatoes, 1 400g can kidney beans (drained), 2 tsps cayenne powder, 1 tsp brown sugar.

Method:

1. Heat the oil in a pan.
2. Fry the onion and garlic until they become soft.
3. Add the tomatoes, beans, cayenne powder and brown sugar.
4.  Heat the ingredients through and season to taste.

From → Sides

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

