Oreo Banana Cake

Cool Twist 

I wanted to make a banoffee pie but the recipe I found, I did not trust.  I liked the fact that it used oreo biscuits but the caramel was a disaster waiting to happen.  My Gran Gran genes told me to turn the pie into a cake.  I am so glad I recreated the banoffee classic.  I felt like my version deserved to be in the magazine too.

This recipe was adapted from Asda Magazine (April 2013).

20130512_161040

Ingredients:

250g Oreo cookies, 175g butter (melted), 150g caster sugar, 150ml double cream, 2 large bananas, 200g plain flour, 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda.

Method:

1. Bash up the oreo cookies into small pieces.
2. Mix in with the melted butter.
3. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
4. Mix the sugar into the cookies and butter.
5. Mash up the bananas and add them.
6. Add the flour and soda and mix in the bowl.
7. Pour in the cream and fold.
8. When everything has mixed well pour into a prepared 8 inch cake tin.
9. Bake for 35 minutes.
10. When the cake has baked and is firm to the touch leave to cool for 5 minutes before serving.

Author: Safiya Kamaria

A free spirited creative person sharing my food adventures.

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love