Skip to content

Citrus Pancakes

May 8, 2013

Bread and Butter

A guy from Texas, America once told me that having pancakes in the his house was more important than bread and butter.  This was not hard to believe from looking at the size of him and when he told me he put fruit juice in his pancakes for extra sweetness I thought he was just crazy.  That is until I saw the idea in one of my cookbooks.  I forgot that adding a little lemon juice to crepes makes the pancakes really lively.  So the idea of adding some orange juice isn’t so far fetched after all.  I made sweet citrus pancakes for my boyfriend’s breakfast me.  Seeing him smile in the morning makes my day.  I estimated my pancake batter, but this recipe works.

This recipe was adapted from The Really Useful Ultimate Student Cookbook (Murdoch Books, 2007).

Citrus Pancakes

Ingredients:

125g flour, 1 egg, 250ml skimmed milk, orange juice, oil (for frying), lemon juice, icing sugar.

Method:

1. Mix the flour, egg and skimmed milk in a large mixing bowl.
2. Add roughly 10ml orange juice.
3. Heat a little oil in a frying pan.
4. Fry the pancakes in batches and place on kitchen towels to remove any excess oil.
5. Serve the pancakes by drizzling on a little lemon juice and and then sprinkling on some icing sugar.

From → Breakfasts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

