Skip to content

Carrot and Courgette Cake

April 28, 2013

Used to be?

Whenever someone starts off a compliment by saying “you used to be”, you best believe it is back-handed.  I never want anyone to say I used to be creative in the kitchen so I always make sure I let my creative juices flow.  I hate restricting my mind.  I made a delicious courgette and carrot cake.  It was so delicious.  My mother really wanted me to make a courgette cake so I sweetened it by adding carrot.

 20130428_144351

Ingredients:

250ml sunflower oil, 200g dark brown sugar, 50g caster sugar, 3 eggs, 225g wholemeal self – raising flour, 100g carrots (peeled and grated), 150g courgettes (Peeled and grated), 150g lighter mascarpone, 50g icing sugar, pumpkin seeds.

20130428_141600

Method:

1. Beat the oil and sugars in a large bowl.
2. Beat in the eggs, mixing well after each addition.
3. Sift in the flour and fold.
4. Fold in the vegetables.
5. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
6. Prepare a bundt cake tin.
7. Pour the mixture into the tin and level.
8. Bake for 40 minutes.
9. Wait for the cake to cool before removing it from the tin.
10. When the cake has cooled beat the mascarpone and icing sugar together in a bowl.
11. Spread the cheese and sugar over the cake then scatter pumpkin seeds over the top.

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

