Skip to content

Saffy’s Allotment Soup

April 24, 2013

All my vegetables

If I had an allotment I would grow all of my favourite vegetables.  Maybe some day I will grow my own vegetables, you can’t get fresher than that.  My aunt grows the juiciest tomatoes, my cousin grows figs and I am pretty sure my grandma had a vegetable patch of her own.  I found this vegetable soup recipe in my new soup book.  I adapted it to my taste and got a really great feeling while I was eating it.  How could anyone hate vegetables? They are so filling and delicious.  Apart from turnips and all the other nasty ones.

This recipe was adapted from The Soup Book (Dorling Kindersley Limited, 2009).

20130424_180639

Ingredients:

1 tin of cannelloni beans,  2 tbsps olive oil, 1/2 large onion (chopped), 2 garlic cloves (finally chopped), 3 medium carrots (peeled and chopped), 2 medium courgettes (sliced), 2 small sweet potatoes (softened by being pre boiled, peeled and chopped), 230g Italian chopped tomatoes, salt and white pepper, 100g frozen green beans.

Method:

1. In a large saucepan heat the oil.
2. Fry the onion and garlic cloves.
3. When soft add the carrots and courgettes.
4. After about 8 minutes add the sweet potatoes, chopped tomatoes, beans and season.
5. Add 1 1/2 pints of water.
6. Bring to the boil then add the green beans and let the soup simmer for 30 minutes.

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

