Skip to content

Hot Cross Bun Pudding with Chocolate Spread

April 22, 2013

She said, “Why are you so good at cooking?”

I remember when I made hot cross bun pudding for the first time for my partner not too long ago, it was delicious and I was looking forward to making another with home-made hot cross buns and home-made chocolate spread.  I love-making meals by using other techniques which I have learnt, especially meals which make me think about good times.  I made this pudding for my mother.  She really enjoyed it.  She is a bigger chocolate pudding fan, I also gave some to a friend who devoured her portion in 2 seconds flat so I gave her the recipe.  She said “Why are you so good at cooking?”.  I replied, “Because I make my food with love.” Cheesy, but true.

This recipe was adapted from Morrisons Magazine (March/ April, 2013).

20130422_115132

Ingredients:

8 hot cross buns, chocolate spread and butter, 4 eggs, 100g caster sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 150ml double cream, 300ml milk.

Method:

1. Slice the hot cross buns into two.
2. Spread the bottom slices with chocolate spread and the top slices with butter.
3. Layer the bottom slices at the bottom of an oven proof dish.
4. Whisk the eggs, sugar and vanilla extract in a bowl.
5. Gently heat the cream and milk.  Do not get it too hot.
6. Mix the cream and milk with the eggs, sugar and vanilla.
7. Pour most of the mixture over the hot cross buns.
8. Layer the tops on tops of the buns and follow by pouring the rest of the liquid mixture.
9. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
10. Bake with the pudding covered with foil for 30 minutes.
11. Uncover and bake for a further 10 minutes.

From → Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

