Skip to content

Pecan Toffee Ice Cream

April 20, 2013

Love ’em all

If there is one thing my late grandmother, mother and I have in common it is our love for good food, especially ice cream.  Ever since my grandmother passed away I have been obsessed with making perfect ice cream.  She loved it and everytime I make it I think of her.  I only wish she could have tasted mine.  Everybody can have a favourite cereal or table sauce but every person I have asked about their favourite ice cream never picks one flavour.  I hope that I will be able to make hundreds of ice creams from exciting to classic hoping to convert others and myself to new flavours.  My partner and I tried some great flavours in Rome, I only hope that one day I will make ice cream at that standard.  I made a pecan toffee ice cream which tasted absolutely delicious.  It was creamy and divine and balanced with the right amount of sweetness.  Perfect for day without a cloud in the sky.

This recipe was adapted from Asda Magazine (August, 2012).

20130420_164117 20130420_164131

Ingredients:

90g pecans (crushed or chopped up), 15g unsalted butter, 50g dark brown sugar, 300ml milk, 1/2 tsp seeds from a vanilla pod, 3 egg yolks, 90g caster sugar, 300ml double cream.

Method:

1. Melt the butter in a saucepan with the sugar and pecans.
2. Stir until a thick toffee is formed and set aside.
3. Heat the milk and vanilla seeds in a saucepan.
4. Remove from the heat just before the boil.
5. In a small bowl mix the egg yolks with the sugar.
6. Add the toffee mixture to this.
7. When the milk has cooled add the eggs and toffee.8. Heat the toffee nut custard and stir continuously.
9. Heat for 2 minutes without bringing mixture to the boil.
10. Start the ice cream machine and pour in the mixture when it has cooled slightly.
11. Pour in the double cream.
12. Leave the ice cream for 45 minutes.
13. Transfer to a freezer proof container.
14. Stir the ice cream to make sure the pecans are equally distributed after 1 -2 hours.
15. Leave in the freezer until ready to serve.

Saffy’s Top Tips:

1. If an ice cream machine is not being used freeze for at least 6 hours.
2. Start the paddle of the ice cream machine before pouring in the mixture.
3. Make sure the ice cream machine bowl has cooled in the freezer for at least 8 hours before hand or overnight.

From → Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

