Skip to content

Mango Cake

April 12, 2013

Personal Touch

I think every chef or home cook needs to have their own personal touch.  I have not yet discovered what mine is but I know that when it comes to sweet treats I am quite good at adding my own personal touches by using tropical flavours.  With main meals I do not quite yet know what my thing is, but the more I  practice I know I will get there and create a perfect personal touch.  This cake tasted incredible and didn’t look too bad either.  I worked hard on the decoration even though it is simple.  I wanted to make the cake shine and I used brown sugar to make the cake slightly darker to really make the mangoes stand out.  The depth of the sugar also complemented the sweetness of the mango and syrup.

This recipe was adapted from Asda Magazine (August, 2012).

20130412_17213520130412_172100

Ingredients:

240g butter, 160g caster sugar, 60g soft brown sugar, 3 large eggs, 240g self – raising flour, 2 level tsps baking powder, drained mangoes and syrup from a can (separated), 300ml double cream, 2 tbsps icing sugar.

20130412_172454

Method:

1. Prepare to 18cm round cake tins.
2. Beat the butter and sugars into a large bowl until creamy.
3. Beat in the large eggs beating well after each addition.
4. Mix in the flour and baking powder.
5. Add 2 tablespoons of the mango syrup to loosen the cake batter.
6. Divide the cake mixture and separate into the cake tins.
7. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
8. Bake for 40 minutes until the cakes are firm to the touch.
9. In the meantime chop up the mangoes and set aside.
10. Whisk the double cream in a bowl until thick.
11. Add 2 tbsps of mango syrup to the cream.
12. Remove the cakes from the oven when baked and leave to cool.
13. When the cakes are cool remove from the tins.
14. Spread some of the cream on top of one cake and add a few spoons of diced mango on top.
15. Add the other cake on top.
16. Spread the remaining cream on top and add the mango for the finishing touches.

20130412_190804

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

