Skip to content

Banana Sesame Fritters

April 7, 2013

Bubbles

I was very proud of my crispy sweet delights because it was my first completely successful battered fry.  The oil was not too hot or cold so the bananas did not violently cook in the pan.  I ended up with each one being a perfect lovely texture, crispy on the outside and soft and on the inside.  These fritters helped me to overcome my fear of frying and getting nipped by the oil on my arm.  The bubbles made me feel happy because I was cooking something comforting and loving for my partner.  Arms covered, pan in hand I cooked away with a smile on my face.  I added a little nutmeg to the batter which made all the difference.  A little spice makes everything nice.

This recipe was adapted from Good Food Magazine’s 101 Cheap Eats (BBC Books, 2003).

20130408_161438

Ingredients:

100g self-raising flour, 2 tbsps toasted sesame seeds, 2 tbsp caster sugar, 2 tsps nutmeg,  4 bananas, vegetable oil (for deep-frying).

Method:

1. Mix the flour, sesame seeds and sugar in a bowl.
2. Make a well in the centre and add 150ml cold water.
3. Add the nutmeg and mix to make a smooth batter.
4. Peel and slice the bananas into chunks on the diagonal.
5. Heat oil in a wok or saucepan for frying.
6. When the oil is hot dip the banana in the batter and carefully lower the bananas into the oil with a slotted spoon.
7. Fry for 4 minutes each until crisp.
8. Drain on kitchen paper.
9. Serve hot.

Saffy’s Serving Idea:

I had this wacky idea of melting strawberry cheesecake ice cream at room temperature and crumbling in some chocolate chip cookies and drizzling this over the fritters.  The coolness and creaminess of the ice cream with the crunchy textures and indulgent flavours turned this snack into a fun dessert.

From → Desserts, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

