Skip to content

Orange and Rosemary Glazed Chicken

April 6, 2013

“I Love Eating Good Chicken”

Eating good juicy, well seasoned chicken is lovely.  Meats should be treated and seasoned with care.  To make bad chicken in my community is sinful, especially in Barbados.  So every opportunity I get to cook chicken I try out new exciting recipes so I can dazzle tastebuds and satisfy chicken cravings as best as I can.  This chicken was gorgeous, it was so succulent and comforting I found it difficult to believe how easy it was.

This recipe was taken from The Complete Low – Fat Cookbook (Bay Books, 2003).

20130405_15043020130405_150320

Ingredients:

1 and 1/2 oranges, 1/2 cup honey, 2 tbsps dijon mustard, 1 1/2 tbsps chopped rosemary, 4 cloves garlic (chopped finely), 4 – 6 pieces of chicken.

20130405_13443720130405_065917

Method:

1. Squeeze the juice from one orange into a bowl.
2. Add the honey.
3. Add the mustard.
4. Then add the garlic and rosemary and mix together well.
5. Cut the other half of orange into wedges.
6. Wash and prepare  the chicken.
7. Marinate in orange mixture and orange wedges.
8. Leave to marinade for 4 – 6 hours minimum.
9. Bake for an hour in a pre heated hot oven (180 degrees min). Baste the chicken once or twice while cooking.
10. Cook the chicken until it is golden and browned and cooked through.

Served with…

I served my chicken with seasoned wild rice and green peas.  I basically added mixed herbs and chopped rosemary to my rice and crumbled in half a stock cubed.  I used frozen peas and added them 10 minutes before the rice was finished.

20130405_150435

From → Main Meals, Sides

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

