Skip to content

Apple and Strawberry Crumble with a Orange, Sultana & Chocolate Oat Topping

April 6, 2013

Desserts and I

I have a love hate relationship with my desserts.  I love them because they taste so good and I hate them because they taste so good but I can never eat too much.  Nonetheless I always make dessert when I know there is someone around who can enjoy the fruits of my labour… literally.  This really is one of my best crumbles, it is so beautiful.  It symbolises the transition from a cold to a warmer season.  The sun was shining through my kitchen window as I took the crumble out of the oven and poured custard over the steaming fruits.

20130406_124748

Ingredients:

125g butter, 1 tbsp honey, 20g milk chocolate, 90g caster sugar, 40g sultanas soaked overnight in juice from 1/2 orange, 300g oats, 2 apples (peeled, cored and chopped into small pieces, 225g strawberries (chopped).

20130406_06561820130406_115841

Method:

1. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
2. Melt the butter, honey, milk chocolate, 50g caster sugar and sultanas in juice in a saucepan over a medium heat.
3. When melted stir into a bowl with 250g oats.
4. Spread into a baking tin and bake for 23 minutes until golden.
5. In the meantime heat 40g of sugar in a saucepan with the apples and strawberries over a low heat.
6. When the fruit is soft place at the bottom of an oven proof dish.
7. Let the oat/ flapjack style topping cool for 10 minutes before mixing in a bowl with 50g of dried oats.
8. Scatter the oat mixture over the fruit.
9. Bake for 30 minutes.

20130406_112531

Saffy’s Serving Tips:

1. Custard in the evening.
2. Sorbet or ice cream on a hot day.
3. Chocolate dipped strawberries.
4. Orange syrup and double cream.

20130406_124923

From → Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

