Skip to content

Tomato and Cucumber Salad

March 21, 2013

Genesis

Recent events have sparked a beautiful awakening.  Although at first I felt I had suffered set backs I realised that I have just been given bigger and better opportunities.  I do believe that everything happens for a reason and though I am not where I want to be I am sure that my hard work will pay off.  With so many questions about life there was only one place I could turn.  The Bible.  After three days of reading I had learnt a great deal about life and had become a better cook.  One of the main teachings I learnt and what inspired this dish is to respect, be grateful and see the beauty in every one of God’s creations.  Sometimes we become so determined we forget about the now, we forget about what is really going on.  I spent so much time focusing on the future I forget to give my body the attention it deserved.  I worked myself to the bone and never rested.  Even God took a rest.  So… Although I will still push  I am going to take the time to love and cherish God’s creations.  Which includes food.  This tomato and cucumber salad is a reminder of what I learnt.  It is fresh, delicately flavoured and is a great pasta side dish.  I made my own French dressing which tasted great.  It is wonderful how just a little seasoning can make vegetables seem so vibrant and exciting.

This recipe was adapted from The Best of Sainsbury’s Vegetarian Cooking (Reed International Books Limited, 1992).

20130321_133616

(To Serve 4)

Ingredients:

4 beef tomatoes (sliced), 1/2 cucumber (sliced), salt and pepper, 1 tsp caster sugar, 50ml olive oil, 1 1/2 tbsps wine vinegar, 1/2 tsp mustard, 1 tsp honey, 1/2 tsp dried marjoram.

Method:

1. Arrange the tomato and cucumber slices on a plate.
2. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and the sugar to taste.
3. In a small bowl lightly whisk the olive oil, vinegar, mustard and honey.
4. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
5. Drizzle the dressing over the tomato and cucumber.
6. Sprinkle the marjoram over the top.

Saffy’s Serving Ideas:

1. With some cheesy pasta.
2. A vegetable gratin.
3. Roast Chicken.

From → Salads, Sides

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

