Skip to content

Spicy Oatmeal Cookies

March 21, 2013

Back to School

I believe that you never stop learning and you are never to old to educate yourself.  During my recovery period I decided to keep my brain active when I wasn’t resting completely.  It allowed me to direct my focus away from negativity and I really enjoyed myself.  I made these cookies to celebrate my love for education.  I never gave my second home economics a cookie because they were awful and she was a b**ch, but this recipe I give to you.  My supporters, my loved ones and people who love to learn.

This recipe was adapted from Cooking Light (December, 2000).

Spicy Oat Cookies

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup of self-raising flour, 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp ground allspice, 1 tsp ground nutmeg, 1/4 tsp salt, a dash of black pepper, 1 cup packed brown sugar, 4 tbsps butter, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 large egg.

Method:

1. Place a sheet of baking parchment on top of a baking tray.
2. In a large bowl mix the self-raising flour, spices, salt, black pepper and baking soda.
3. In another bowl beat the butter and sugar together.
4. Mix in the egg and vanilla extract.
5. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.
6. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
7. Form the cookie mixture into a dough and divide into cookie shapes.
8. Place on the baking tray about an inch apart.
9. Bake for 12 minutes until the cookies are lightly browned and slightly risen.
10. Leave to cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes.

From → Baking, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

