Skip to content

Curried Butternut Squash Soup

March 21, 2013

“I ready boa!”

After a laughing fit I felt the back of my throat itch.  Everytime I feel the first sign of a cold I take immediate action.  I remember I was once at a club and felt a sore throat.  I got 3 cups of water and one straight rum.  I took the rum home (I don’t know how I got away with it) put it in the microwave for a few seconds and downed it with some hot pepper sauce on the back of my hand.  I do not like getting sick.  Recently I’ve discovered that my body likes to fight foreign bodies including antibiotics, with this recent knowledge that my body is still tough I set to work trying to rid myself of  a possible throat infection.  I drunk as much water as I could and made this spicy soup.  The next day the itch was gone and if it comes back I have rum at the ready!  “I ready boa!”

This recipe was adapted from Fitness Magazine (2012).

20130321_144403

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil, 1 medium red onion (chopped), 2 garlic cloves (chopped), 1 butternut squash (lightly boiled to soften, peeled, seeded and chopped into bitesize pieces), 500ml vegetable stock, 1 1/2 tbsps curry powder, 3 tsps chilli flakes, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 tsps honey, plain non fat yoghurt. 

20130321_144322

Method:

1. Heat the oil over a medium heat.
2. Add the onions and garlic and fry for 5 minutes.
3. Add the squash and vegetable stock.
4. Add the curry powder and chilli flakes.
5. Season with a little salt and bring to the boil.
6. Reduce the heat and let the soup simmer for 15 minutes uncovered.
7. Remove from the heat.
8. Stir in the honey and puree with a hand mixer until smooth.
9. Ladle into bowls and stir in 2 tsps of yoghurt.

From → Soups

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

