Skip to content

Apple Lemon Drizzle Bundt Cake

March 21, 2013

Sweet and Sour

If I was to describe my love life in food terms I would describe it as sweet and sour.  I  have pushed those who care about my away and I have been betrayed and hurt.  At the same time I have felt love, passion and an abundance of happiness.  My newest bake creation is a symbol of the roles I play in my love life, no matter how sour the surface can appear there will always be a sweet scent and glaze shining through and the body (heart and soul) will remain sweet and rich.  I always have good intentions.  I would never intentionally hurt anyone.  Everything I love to love and I hate to hate.  This cake is really lovely.  I think it combines bitterness and sweetness well.  Apples, lemons, vanilla and honey.

20130321_163424

Ingredients:

195g butter, 95g soft brown sugar, 100g caster sugar, 3 medium eggs, 195g self – raising flour, 2 tbsps yoghurt, 2 tsps mixed spice, 1 tsp vanilla essence, 2 small apples (peeled and chopped into bitesize chunks), 1 small apple (peeled and wedged), juice from 1 lemon, 1 1/2 tbsps brown sugar, 2 tsps honey.

Method:

1. Prepare a bundt tin.
2. Beat the butter and the sugar together.
3. Beat in the eggs mixing well in between.
4. Sift in the flour.
5. Mix in the yoghurt, mixed spice and vanilla essence.
6. Fold in the 2 apples which have been cut into bitesize chunks.
7. Set aside and pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
8. In a small pan heat the lemon juice, brown sugar and honey.
9. Add the apple wedges and stir to coat the apples in the thick syrup.
10. Remove from the heat.
11. Carefully using a utensil place the apples at the bottom of the bundt tin.
12. Gently  pour the syrup on top of the apple wedges, leaving about 2 tbsps.
13. Gently spoon the cake mixture into the bundt tin on top of the syrup and level.
14. Bake for 30 minutes.
15. Remove the cake and let cool for at least 20 minutes before taking out of the bundt tin.
16. Drizzle the rest of the syrup ontop of the cake when it is still warm to let it soak through.

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

