Skip to content

Baked, Buttered Rice and Farmhouse Vegetable Pilaf

March 16, 2013

Weekend Girl Takes a Break 

Once upon a time I would have called myself a weekend girl.  I used to pack as much activities as I could to make the most of my weekends or just spends my free time doing fun things.  Having some real Saffy time.  Since my latest setback I haven’t exactly had much to look forward to in the near future, but planning and preparing for… something.  I guess this is what this dish represents.  It is quite relaxing and therapeutic to make and it appears to be a slow cook.  I saw therapeutic because I love the smell of boiled rice and due to a lack of energy (not passion) I wasn’t jumping around in eagerness like I usually am in the kitchen.  This is a fuss free meal,  it is also a useful recipe for packing in more vegetables into your meal.  You can change the vegetables to your taste.  I stuck to Ainsley’s idea for using farmhouse vegetables,  it just felt like the right thing to do after passing allotments that morning.  I also used two types of rice to use up what I had.  Ainsley used just basmati.

This recipe was adapted from Ainsley Harriott’s just five ingredients ( BBC Books, 2009).

Baked Buttered Basmati and farm Veg Pilau Rice

Ingredients:

50g butter, 1 red onion (finely chopped), 125g wild rice (rinsed), 100g basmati rice (rinsed), 600ml hot vegetable stock, 3 small potatoes peeled and chopped, 1/2 the broccoli florets from a broccoli, 100g carrots (peeled and chopped), 100g swede (chopped and peeled), salt and black pepper.

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C.
2. Heat the butter in a saucepan and add the onions.
3. Cook for about 5 minutes until the onions have softened.
4. Tip the rice into the saucepan and coat it in the butter.
5. Pour the buttered rice into a casserole dish.
6. Pour the stock over the top and season.
7. Place the lid on top and cook in the oven for 15 minutes.
8. Add the potatoes and swede.
9. Place the lid back on and cook for a further 15 minutes.
10. Add the rest of the vegetables.  The rice should be almost tender and most of the stock should have been absorbed.
11. Cover the casserole dish and cook for 10 minutes.
12. When the rice is completely tender and the vegetables have steamed through, remove rice from the oven.
13. Fold the vegetables gently into the rice to make sure everything is mixed well.
14. Serve as a side or main meal.

From → Main Meals, Sides

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

