Skip to content

Savoury Apple Pasties

March 15, 2013

Wonder Woman 

The day I made these I was literally acting as wonder woman.  Even when I am not 100% I do amaze myself by packing in so much in a day.  I need to rest and I damn well deserve one after spending 4 hours in the kitchen.  These lovelies did not take four hours, they were a joy to make and they kept me happy.  I think I can spend a day without cooking now.  Mummy loved the pasties, as I always say I love feeding others.  This recipe is very special, I knew it from the moment I laid my eyes on the ingredients, apples, eggs, cheese, onion, yoghurt.  In other words and warm British Country afternoon in a pasty.  Yes please.

This recipe was adapted from Carol Bowen’s The Vegetarian Cookbook (London: Chancellor Press, 1991). 

20130314_193930

Ingredients:

100g potato (peeled and coarsely grated), 175g baking apples (peeled, cored and chopped into small pieces), 2 tbsps finely chopped onion (I used red onion), 175g cheddar cheese (grated), 2 medium boiled eggs (mushed, but you can also use hard – boiled chopped eggs), 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce, 2 tsps mixed herbs, 2 tbsps natural yoghurt, salt and black pepper, 225g plain wholemeal flour, pinch of salt, 100g butter (cubed), water, egg wash from 1 egg.

20130314_14082220130314_1408162013-03-14 15.11.26

Method:

1. Mix the potatoes, apple, onion, cheese, eggs, sauce, mixed herbs and yoghurt into a large mixing bowl.
2. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
3. Mix the flour and a pinch of salt into another bowl.
4. Rub in the butter using the fingertips until it represents fine breadcrumbs.
5. Add water and bind the dough until it becomes firm and pliable. Add a little water at a time.  ( I started with 3 tbsps.)
6. Knead the dough onto a lightly floured surface until smooth.
7. Roll the pastry out and then cut into even round circles.  (No bigger than 18cm/ 7 inches.)
8. Divide the apple filling to the pastry rounds.
9. Lightly dampen the edges with water.
10. Draw up the edges to meet in the centre and crimp.
11. Place on a lightly greased baking sheet on a baking tray.
12. Glaze with the beaten egg.
13. Bake in a pre heated moderately hot oven at 180 degrees C for 25 minutes.
14. When the pasties are lightly browned they can be served, hot, warm or cold.

From → Main Meals

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

