Skip to content

Classic Oat Flapjacks

March 15, 2013

The possibility of perfection

I was recently reminded that I am my own worst enemy and my own worst critic.  I very supportive friend of mine was giving me the low down on my perception of myself.  He was wishing I could see myself through his eyes.  I did make a promise that now I have had major changes in my life that I need to really start caring for myself more.  But in order to do this I want to prove to myself I can achieve my heart’s greatest desires.  My friend told me that though this is good I should really give myself a break sometimes and realise my greatness.  (I know my partner is reading this right now thinking I told you so…. Sigh.)   I am aware that there is perhaps no such thing as perfection, but I do still believe that you should set your goals high.  I understand I want to fly close to the sun so I am grateful I have people in my life who are willing to save me.  These flapjacks are a symbol of my journey for perfection.  I am on my way! These flapjacks are fabulous.  I finally found a recipe which gets the proportions just right and keeps the oats chewy, sweet and allows freedom for creativity.  I may have got the recipe from Cheap Eats, but that just proves the working class mind is a great mind.  Braaaaaaaaaaaap!

This recipe was happily taken from 101 Cheap Eats (London: BBC Books, 2003).

20130314_132837

Ingredients:

175g butter, 140g golden syrup, 50g muscovado sugar, 250g porridge oats.

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees C.
2. Line the base of a square tin (23cm/ 9 inches max) with baking parchment.
3. Put the butter, syrup and sugar on a medium pan.
4. Stir over a low heat until the butter has melted and sugar has dissolved.
5. Put the oats into a mixing bowl and stir in the sugar, butter and syrup.
6. Pack the mixture into the tin.
7. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes.
8. When the flapjacks are golden brown on the top cool the tin completely before cutting into squares.

From → Baking, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

