Skip to content

Quick Vegetable Curry (Balti)

March 2, 2013

Small Effort, Maximum Flavour,  Regular Passion

After years of pushing my body to the limit it finally started to shut down on me.  A series of events led me to leave my student accommodation and move to a more peaceful environment.  Something was not right and I had been aware of this for a long period.  I was forced to take action.  Due to being sick I standing for long periods and working out became strenuous.  My passions were becoming a danger to me.  But to give up all together was just too much to deal with.  So, to compromise, on my first day of rest I did light body conditioning and made an easy vegetable curry.  I do need to learn how to rest properly, but as I had been going through a lot cooking was just another form of medication.  Let’s call it “a happy pill”.  I made a really healthy curry packed full of vegetables using a good quality Balti paste.  I served it with garlic and coriander naan bread.

This recipe was adapted from ‘Asda Fit 4 Life Recipe Cards’.

20130302_165855

Ingredients:

2 tsps vegetable oil, 1 large onion (chopped), 2 garlic cloves (chopped), 1 small apple (peeled and chopped), 2 tbsps Balti curry paste, 2 carrots (peeled and sliced), 400g tinned chopped tomatoes, 200g chickpeas in water (drained), 200g marinated tofu, 300ml vegetable stock, 70g frozen peas, 100g frozen broccoli and cauliflower, naan bread (to serve).

20130302_165723

Method:

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan.
2. Add the onion, apple and garlic.
3. Fry the ingredients for 3 minutes on a low/ medium heat.
4. Stir in the curry paste for a minute.
5. Add the carrots, tomatoes, chickpeas, tofu and stock.
6. Let the curry simmer for 30 minutes, partially covered.
7. Add the frozen vegetables and cook until the vegetables are done.
8. Heat up the naan bread and serve with the curry.

Healthy Advice:

As this is  such an easy meal you could switch it up a little.  Add your favourite vegetables and experiment with new flavours.  You can buy a variety of curry pastes from the supermarket, so if you love your curries ditch the takeaway and make your own.  I made this meal tired so you can make this me feeling awake.  No excuses.

20130302_165933

From → Main Meals

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

