Skip to content

Spicy Carrot and Spinach Soup

February 22, 2013

Staying Positive for my operation

I made this soup in preparation for an operation I was going to have on my stomach.  I was really scared and cooking usually settles my nerves.  I needed to make something in advance because I knew I would not be up to cooking after the operation and I needed to prepare something that I could digest easily.  Also my criteria included “not boring”,  usually when one become sick the food tends to lack in quality and flavour.  Cheap dry biscuits and watery soup was not going to do it for me so I made this ultra green exciting soup.  Green is a symbol for power, wealth, health and good fortune so my philosophy as I was making this was “the greener the better”.  I spiced my soup with cumin and chilli flakes.  I like the fact that you cannot see any trace of carrots because it is such a lovely surprise when you first taste the soup.  It was delicious!

This recipe was adapted from Sainsbury’s Recipe Cards (Sainsbury’s 2012).

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil, 1 large onion (chopped), 1 tsp ground cumin, 2 tsps chilli flakes, 5 large carrots (peeled and chopped), 1 1/4 litres vegetable stock, 400g chopped spinach, salt and pepper.

Method:

1. In a large pan heat up the oil on a medium heat.
2. Fry the chopped onion until soft.
3. Add the cumin and chilli flakes and carrots.
4. After 3 -4 minutes add the vegetable stock.
5. Bring to the boil and then simmer for 10 minutes.
6. After 5 minutes add the spinach.
7. After 5 minutes remove from the heat and blend.
8. Season to taste with the salt and pepper.  Add some more chilli flakes or hot pepper sauc

From → Soups, Starters

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

