Skip to content

Pancake Canapés

February 15, 2013

“Roll It Gyal”

I created this dish after trying out this new dance move which involved rolling my waist.   The whine didn’t look the same as the girl who taught it to me for I had injured my ankle.  And so I did what all great choreographers do, adapted the movement to my needs and re invented it to be extra special.   A jazzed up my whine by performing a comical leg movement with the ankle that was injured, therefore I took pressure off my ankle and as I balanced exaggerated the hip movement along with Birdspeed style facial expressions.  I carried out the same choreographic process with some pancakes I made for my partner.  Rolled up a Saffafied!

Pancake Canopes

Ingredients:

125g plain flour, 2 medium eggs, 350ml skimmed milk, 2 large bananas mashed, 1 tsp mixed spice, 25g caster sugar,  oil for frying, 2 handfuls chopped hazelnuts, 2 tbsps chocolate spread, a handful of raisins.

Method:

1. Sift the flour into a large bowl.
2. Make a well in the centre.
3. Break the eggs into the well.
4. Beat the mixture.
5. Gradually pour in the milk and keep mixing to a good consistency.
6. Fold in the bananas.
7. Add the mixed spice and sugar then stir into the pancake batter.
8. Heat up a tbsp of oil in a frying pan to begin with over a medium heat.
9. Fry the pancakes flipping after 2 – 3 minutes on each side.
10. After each pancake is done place on a paper towel on a plate.
11. When the batter has been used make the canapé filling.  Mix up the nuts chocolate spread and raisins in a small bowl.
12. Place some of the mixture into each pancake before rolling it.
13. Chop into smaller pieces and use toothpick to hold together if necessary.

Saffy’s Number One Tip:

Use what is in your kitchen and be creative, I had bananas and hazelnuts so I did my thing.

From → Breakfasts, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

