Skip to content

Provençale- style Kidney Beans

February 12, 2013

Fresh and Filling

Comfort food for me has to be fresh and filling.  It can’t be something full of fat and sugar because I actually don’t want to end up feeling like crap after, even if the result is just the same.  It’s mid February and so far things are not going my way.  It’s my anniversary with my partner soon and the only thing I can think about is how I can make him happy as my personal confidence is so low.  February has been my month of fear and anxiety.  I hoping for a turnaround… soon.  This kidney bean dish didn’t make my woes leave my body but it did a great job in feeding my hunger.

This recipe was adapted from Kirsten Hartvig’s Eat to Boost Your Immunity (Duncan Baird Publishers 2012).

20130212_153535

Ingredients:

2tbsps olive oil, 1 red onion (chopped), 1 red onion (chopped), 2 garlic cloves (chopped), 1 tin red kidney beans, 2 1/2 small courgettes (chopped), 4 ripe tomatoes (chopped), 150ml diluted vegetable stock, 100g green olives (halved), 1 tbsp lemon juice, 2 tsps dried basil, 2 tsps oregano, ground black pepper, wild rice (to serve).

Method:

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan and start cooking the wild rice.
2. Saute the onion and garlic gently for 2 minutes.
3. Add the kidney beans, courgettes and tomatoes.
4. Cook for 3 minutes.
5. Add the stock.
6. Add the green olives, lemon juice and herbs.
7. Bring to the boil and then simmer for 10 minutes.
8. Season with black pepper.
9. Serve with the wild rice.

From → Main Meals

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

