Skip to content

Pasta Bows with Smoked Salmon and Peas

February 12, 2013

Farfalle Salmone E Piselli

My wonderful partner took me to Rome in 2012 for my birthday.  I couldn’t believe it, the astonishment on my face stayed with me throughout the trip.  The monuments were spectacular, the atmosphere was romantic and the food was exquisite.  My partner and I tried as many foods as we could which Italy is famous for so we could compare the English versions to the real deal.  Every bite was a new lesson.  I was so excited about cooking Italian food and flaunting my new knowledge about my Italian culinary rules like never pairing cheese with fish and respecting every single ingredient.  My favourite pasta is farfalle otherwise known as pasta bows.  Every Italian restaurant I have been to where I ordered farfalle has been a wonderful experience.  I love an excellent quality pasta with a beautiful sauce.  My partner also brought me Gino D’Acampo’s cookbook fantastico as a Christmas gift.  I promised I would cook us a beautiful meal after examinations.  So I made a special Italian meal for just the two of us.  I used the most wonderful pasta I brought from Rome.  It was mixed flavoured farfalle which included flavours such as black squid ink, chilli and tomato.  Fantastico! Also it was the fist time I cooked shallots, I sure did have a great evening. Smiles all round.

20130207_113457

This recipe was taken from Gino D’Acampo’s fantastico: Modern Italian Food (Kyle Books, 2011).

20130207_124634

Ingredients:

70g salted butter, 1 tbsp olive oil, 3 shallots (finely chopped), 150g frozen peas, 100g smoked salmon (chopped), 100ml single cream, 500g farfalle (excellent quality), salt and pepper.

Method:

1. Melt the butter and oil in a large frying pan.
2. Gently fry the shallots until golden.
3. Add the peas and cook for about 3 minutes.
4. Add the salmon and cook for another 3 minutes.
5. Add the cream and leave for 3 minutes.
6. While making the sauce cook the pasta in salted water.
7. When the farfalle is cooked, drain and add to the sauce.
8. Stir well to make sure the pasta is coated in the sauce.
9. Serve with ground black pepper on top.

Italian Tips:

1. Never put the sauce ontop of the pasta mix everything together.
2. Keep tasting your food.  Salmon is salty so do not add too much salt.
3. Handle every ingredient with care.

From → Main Meals

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

