Skip to content

Cookies and Cream Cheesecake

February 12, 2013

Maximum Indulgence

This is the baddest, biggest most bountiful cheesecake I have ever made.  I was in a very giving mood.  My handsome partner had shown me once again how amazing he is.  He never ceases to amaze me so feeling overjoyed I expressed myself by making this bad boy!  I actually did not have all of the equipment I needed so for 2 hours it was an epic battle between me oreos and the cream cheese.  From the looks of me after I had finished I have to admit the cream cheese almost won.

This recipe was taken from Good Housekeeping Magazine (December, 2012).

20130206_215113

Ingredients:

275g bourbon biscuits, 50g unsalted butter (melted), 600g full fat cream cheese, 250g caster sugar, 300ml soured cream, 1 tsp seeds scraped from a vanilla pod, 4 medium eggs, 175g oreo cookies (crumbled).

20130207_170419

Method:

1. Crush the bourbon biscuits.
2. Mix with the melted butter.
3. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees C.
4. Press into an oven proof dish to make the base.
5. Bake in the oven for 12 minutes.
6. Take out of the oven and lower the temperature to 160 degrees C.
7. Put the cream cheese into a large mixing bowl.
8. Beat the cheese until smooth.
9. Mix in the sugar, soured cream  and vanilla.
10. Beat in the eggs.
11. Finally add the oreos.  Some can also be saved for the final decoration.
12. Pour the cheese mix on top of the bourbon biscuit base.
13. Bake in the oven for 40 minutes until the cheesecake has just set.
14. Cool completely and chill for 5 hours minimum. (Good Housekeeping does say 3 hours min, but I would suggest at least 5).

20130207_154556

20130206_215551

From → Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

