Skip to content

Plantain Coconut Milk Cake Pudding

January 29, 2013

Caribbean Royalty 

When I was a little girl I imagined I was a princess of the 8 kingdoms of Jamaica.  It is a fantasy I had throughout my childhood and I always imagined the beautiful world I would create for myself as a woman based on my childhood fantasies.  In the last year I have dedicated my hobbies towards fulfilling such dreams.  Dancing to portray a stunning depiction of Caribbean dance, rapping to be the voice of my generation and creating unique Caribbean food that brings an abundance of sunshine.  This pudding is definitely going on my menu in one of my Caribbean restaurants.  I still need to perfect it, but the sunshine is peeping through the clouds in this bowl of yumminess.

20130123_214901

Ingredients:20130123_214911

2 overly ripe plantains, 300g light coconut milk, 125g butter, 125g light brown sugar, 2 eggs, 125g self raising flour, 2 tsps cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg.

20130123_204659

20130123_205706

Method:

1. Chop off the tops and tails of the plantains.
2. Cut a slit down the middle.
3. Chop up the plantain into thick chunks.
4. Heat the milk in a medium saucepan and put in the plantain.
5. Bring to the boil and let simmer for 8 minutes or until the plantain is cooked through.
6. Remove the plantain with a slotted spoon from the saucepan and peel off the skin when cool enough to handle.
7. Mash up the plantain in a bowl and set aside.
8. In a large mixing bowl beat the sugar and butter.
9. Add the eggs beating well after each addition.
10. Beat in the plantain.
11. Sift in the flour.
12. Pour in half the milk and mix well.
13. Add the spices and taste.
14. Pour into a pre prepared 23 inch cake tin.
15. Bake for 1 hour at 180 degrees C.
16. Let the cake cool for 5 minutes.
17. Serve warm with hot coconut milk.

20130123_214924

20130123_214933

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

