Skip to content

Toffee Cake

January 24, 2013

Sweet Girl 

So there’s this guy I had a fling with a long time ago and out of no where he starts asking me for money.  I was his “sweet girl” and he was my “JAG”.  I thought I was in love with him and I kept him in my head for a very long time.  We even had a special place and I even said to myself to this day I will tell no one  where that place is.  So anyway he gets angry at me because I can’t help him in the ways that he would like and curses me as if I were his worst enemy.  He said he never loved me and that I am a “possessive dog”.  I have no idea what I did to make him hate me so much,  I swear down all I ever did was show him affection.  Nonetheless here I am and there he is.  2 people out of love with each other, but connected in some way or the other.  I had recently learnt how to make toffee, the sweetness of the confectionery reminded me of my pet name sweet girl.  So there you go this is a cake based on what was and tasting just as sweet.  A toffee cake for sweet girls that will always stay sweet even if they  encounter bitter, sour, gone off, foil, spoilt, nasty smelling, rancid ingredients.

20130120_231402

Ingredients:

50g butter, 125 ml pouring golden syrup, 100g muscavado sugar, 150ml double cream, 150g self – raising flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder.

Method: 

1. In a pan melt the butter, syrup and sugar to a medium heat.
2. Add the cream and keep stirring until it forms into a caramel.
3. Pour the mixture into a mixing bowl and then sieve in the flour and baking powder.
4. Pour the mixture into a pre prepared cake tin.  With a spoon make a swirl pattern in the top of the cake.
5. Bake at 180 degrees for 40 minutes.

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

