Skip to content

Cranberry Nut Loaf

January 24, 2013

Cranberry Sauce

Sometimes I think supermarkets just use Christmas as an excuse to get rid of the foods that are unappealing.  I have never really been a fan of cranberry sauce.  I find it quite sharp and I do not think it actually goes well with turkey.  If I do eat cranberry sauce it is only because I have juiced my meat with citrus first first so it actually compliments the cranberry flavour.  I am very happy that I found a lovely recipe which allows me to use up the cranberry sauce left over from Christmas.  It is such a waste to let condiments spoil.  I wish  others understood the value of food as much as I do.  You would think that everybody who wasted food was rich and gave it away to those less fortunate, but they don’t.  This loaf therefore makes me think about being thankful and making the most of what you have.  This loaf can be made for many occasions.  It should be treated like a sweet bread and served for afternoon tea.  Perhaps with a selection of cheeses, chutneys and fruit.

This recipe was adapted from The Best of Sainsbury’s Vegetarian Cooking (Reed Consumers Ltd, 1992).

20130120_080754

Ingredients:

250g plain flour, 1 1/2 tsps baking powder, 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda, 1 tsp salt, 50g butter, 125g caster sugar, 75g chopped cashew nuts, grated rind and juice from 1 large orange, 1 egg, 100g cranberry sauce.

20130120_08074620130120_075955

Method:

1. Prepare a loaf tin.
2. Sift the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and salt into a bowl.
3. Rub in the butter to make fine breadcrumbs.
4. Stir in the sugar and cashew nuts.
5. Whisk the orange rind, juice, egg and cranberry sauce.
6. Stir this into the dry ingredients and mix well.
7. Spoon the mixture into the loaf tin.
8. Bake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees C for an hour.

From → Baking, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

