Skip to content

Blueberry Loaf

January 24, 2013

“So Beautiful”

I was listening to “Soul Beautiful” a song by Musiq Soulchild and it made me reflect on my partner who tells me I’m beautiful when I don’t feel so.  Due to the stress of exams and my life in general I feel as though I am always trying to do things for people.  Always trying to make myself look good for others.  My course is dance based,  my work is judged and critiqued all the time.  It was time for me to stop trying to please other people and try to please myself.  As long as I am truly happy with my work then that is what should matter.  In terms of assessment and judging for competitions I just need to know I worked the hardest I could.  My blueberry loaf was an example of this.  When you are mashing up fruit in food it is quite difficult to make it look pretty.  But I wasn’t bothered about the way it looked I just wanted some kind of fruit cake, I wanted to please myself and me alone.  In the end it ended up tasting and looking pretty special.  Blueberry loaf with a lovely crumbly melt in the the mouth cake texture.


20130116_052125

Ingredients:

125g butter, 125g caster sugar, 2 large eggs, 125g plain flour, 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 250g blueberries (roughly mashed up with juice), 2 tsps lemon juice.

Method:      

1. Beat the butter and sugar until creamy.
2. Beat in the eggs.
3. Sieve in the plain flour.
4. Add the soda and powder.
5. Mix in the blueberries and juices including the lemon juice.
6. Bake at 180 degrees C for 30 minutes.

20130116_052208

From → Baking, Desserts, Snacks

One Comment
  1. What an amazing bake! So lovely ! =)

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

