Skip to content

Sweetcorn Bread and Flat Snacks

January 23, 2013

“Crazy Sexy Wonderful”

I had to name this fantastic treat after a song by Amerie.  I loooooveeee this recipe! When I get my own restaurant this is going to be on the menu.  I was thinking that I could really follow the footsteps of selling unique breads at my bakery/ restaurant as an ode to my old time favourite pub The Linnet.  It shut down last year, I had only been there twice but each experience was divine.  It is funny that the best dishes I have tasted have not been in highly recommended restaurants but in little gems.  It just goes to show that you do not need thousands of accolades to prove yourself.  That is another reason why this bread is so important to me.  I made it when I was doubting myself.  I had a great deal of work to do and I was doubting if I could even pull it off.  So I made up this recipe and two seconds of tasting the gentle sweet herbed flavours and light souffle like texture with a crispy coating I found myself believing that trying was better than nothing.  I got back to work and that night created some wonderful essay ideas.  There was just something about this bread that gave me an extra boost of confidence.  If I can make something so beautiful in my head after about  ten seconds of thinking then why am I always doubting myself.  Two weeks later I completed all of my work and started writing up my goals for Safiya 2013.  Birdspeed doesn’t age until Easter and when that time comes I’ll be giving her the biggest confidence boosts that I can.

20130111_215507

Ingredients:

200g sweetcorn (blended), 125g margarine, 2 eggs,  3 spoons flaxseed, 2 dollops of yoghurt fat free, 125g self raising flour, 1 tbsp chive (chopped), 1 tbsp oregano (chopped), 1 tbsp dried rosemary.

20130111_21540520130111_215351

Method:

1. Beat the margarine with the sweetcorn.
2. Add the eggs and beat well after each addition.
3. Add the flaxseed and yoghurt.
4. Sift in the flour and fold gently.
5. Add the herbs.
6. Prepare a square and loaf baking tin.
7.  For flat snacks spoon on the mixture until it is no bigger than an inch.
8. Pour the rest of the mixture into a loaf tin.
9. Bake the flats for 20 minutes at 180 degrees C.
10. Bake the loaf for 1 hour 10 minutes at the same temperature.

20130111_21522720130111_213740

Saffy’s Serving Ideas:

1. Low fat cream cheese.
2. Cheese and Chutney.
3. Salmon Spread.
4. Smoked Mackerel Pate.

From → Baking, Sides, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

