Skip to content

Lychee Cake

January 23, 2013

Sweetest Taboo

I was in a sultry soulful mood when I made this cake.  I was jamming to some Sade and before I knew it I was cooking up her voice in my own perfect blissful trance.  I had the kitchen to myself.  I was on my way to completing my assignments and I had a wonderful night of dance and music ahead of me.  Life was sweet and I wanted to make a cake that just proved this.  Putting theory to the test.  A soft, sweet lychee cake.  It has a very moist texture and has to be eaten with a fork or spoon one my lychee lemon syrup is added.  Complete with a hint of vanilla and bitter lime and lemon juices in the syrup this cake is a treat worthy of a hip sway and soulful melody.

20130115_202304

Ingredients:

125g butter, 125g caster sugar, 2 large eggs, 125g self raising flour, 1 tsp vanilla essence, 1/2 can lychees (save juice for syrup), 1/4 juice from a lemon, 1/4 juice from a lime, 20g caster sugar for syrup.

20130115_202141

Method:

1. Beat the butter and the caster sugar together.
2. When creamy add the eggs beating well after each addition.
3. Sift in the self raising flour and mix together.
4. Chop up the lychees roughly and add to the cake mixture with the vanilla essence.
5. Pour into a prepared round baking tin.
6. Bake for 30 minutes at 180 degrees C.
7. After 25 minutes in about 15 ml of water dissolve sugar in a pan.
8. Add the lemon and lime juice and let thicken into a syrup.
9. When the cake has baked all the way through (top golden) remove from the oven.
10. As the cake cools pour the syrup over the cake.  Prod the cake a few times with a fork to ensure the syrup really gets into the cake.
11. Serve the cake hot or chilled with low fat yoghurt or sweet ice cream.

From → Baking, Desserts

6 Comments
  1. interesting idea… it looks kind of more like a pudding than a cake.

    • Yeah. That is because it has been soaked in syrup. It would be more like a cake withouth the syrup but the syrup does provide a little extra. These would make fantastic fried cake pops.

  2. Because IIIII INVENTED THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ITS WHAT I DO ! DON’T U READ MY BLOGS CHA! lol I’m on fire

  3. But seriously though my mind actually works at like 100 mile an hour. Everyday I think of new ideas it crazy! I’m actually gonna be using that recipe cake pops for children for my restaurant or whatever i decided. I have so many recipes that I wouldn’t release on this blog until I make it. Until then it’s tries and testers from Kamaria’s Kitchen.

  4. hahaha i only started blogging a few days ago and found your blog today!! but i’m following now so i will be able to keep up with your crazy ideas. i got lots of crazy ideas of my own too. they just haven’t made it to the page yet. well, crazy ideas have made it to the page but not my cooking/baking crazies.

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

