Skip to content

Boiled Green Bananas

January 23, 2013

Jamdown

I have been thinking about taking my first trip to Jamaica soon.  Barbados is always calling me back though so I will have to plan my time wisely.  Either way I have the Caribbean in my spirit and felt like challenging the Winter.  The snow was falling and I felt like standing up to it by making sunshine of my own.  The bananas make a great snack, but only taste great when they are green.  If people are unfamiliar with West Indian food they may look at you as if you are mad, but trust me the bananas need to look big, green and raw.

This recipe was adapted from Levi Roots’ Reggae Reggae Cookbook (Haper Collins Publishers, 2008).

20130114_191343

Ingredients:

Green bananas, salt.

Method:

1. Cut the top and tails of the bananas.
2. Cut a slit down the middle in the skin only and peel away a little bit.
3. Bring a large saucepan of water to the boil and add the bananas.
4. Reduce the heat and simmer for 20 minutes.
4. Using a slotted spoon remove the bananas until cool enough to handle.
5. Peel the skin away and cut into chunks.

20130114_194604

From → Sides, Snacks

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

