Skip to content

Plum & Banana Victoria Sponge

December 31, 2012

Sponge Cakes in 2012

I do not think I am the queen of sponge cakes but I think that this year I did very very well.  I wanted to round off my year making my final sponge cake for 2012.   I was determined to make the cake as perfect and as tasty as possible.  I of course had to put my own twist on it, but as long as the butter and sugar was creamed well and the mixture was without lumps this sponge was going to be a great round off bake.  I chose a black cherry jam filling and marzipan decoration, as this was for my mother I wanted to make sure I used some of her favourite cake ingredients.

20121230_224101

Ingredients:

3 plums (skinned, de stoned and chopped), 1 large banana, 175g butter, 175g sugar, 175g flour, 3 eggs, black cherry jam and marzipan (for decoration).

Method:

1. Put the plums in a medium bowl.
2. Chop up the banana into the bowl.
3. Use a hand blender to mash-up the fruit.
4. In another bowl beat the butter and sugar together until creamy.
5. Gradually add the eggs, beating well one after the other.
6. Sieve in the flour.
7. Add the fruit and mix everything together well.
8. Divide into two small round prepared baking trays.
9. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes at 180 degrees C.
10. When firm to the touch and the skewer comes out clean after being inserted in the middle leave to cool for 10 minutes on a wire rack.
11. To sandwich the cake spread jam over the top of the cake.
12. Roll out the marzipan then cut out a circle the size of the cake.
13. Place the marzipan on top of the jam and place the over sponge cake on top.
14. Do the same for the top of the cake then crimp the edges of the marzipan with your fingers.

From → Baking

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

