Skip to content

Healthy Prune Banana Flapjacks Thingy

December 13, 2012

Putting Theory to the Test

In my Performing Theories module our assignment is based on using our dance practice as a way of exploring theory.  I had been making a lot of flapjacks lately and I thought about the idea of not using sugar and instead using fruits high in sugar.  I was nervous about what the food would taste like but actually it did not turn out too badly.  I think it could be a really excellent alternative for people who are trying to cut down on the amount of sugar they eat.  It did taste very different to my usual flapjacks though.  Although it was tasty and filling I did not think I could call it a flapjack.  It is unbelievably easy to make as well and good to take to places like the cinema.  I used prunes and bananas for my fruits therefore with the flaxseed these treats are an excellent source of fibre and vitamins. For now I call it a Healthy Prune Banana Thingy until I can find a better name.

20121211_162307


Ingredients:

40g unsalted butter, 50g pitted prunes (chopped), 3 tbsps flaxseed, 1 large banana, 150g porridge oats.

Method:

1. Melt the butter.
2. Put the porridge oats and flaxseed into a mixing bowl.
3. Blend the prunes and banana.
4. Mix the fruit in well with the oats.
5. Bake in a small oven tin for 30 minutes at 170 degrees C.

Leave a Comment

Thoughts/ Opinions/ Ideas - Share the love

